Laborare et Legere

So much has happened since my last post that I find it difficult to know where to begin. I suppose, firstly, I should mention where I’ve been for the past who-knows-how-many weeks. My absence is due partly by negligence and laziness, partly by the chaos caused by school and work. It isn’t so much that I don’t have anything to say; I just lost my desire to continue this online memoir, basically because I feel like nobody reads it, nobody cares about it, so why should I?

Besides, with school having started, creating a semester that’s not only going to kick my ass but reduce me to nothing but oblivion, my time is consumed by… of course, Facebook. I’m kidding (kinda). I’m actually keeping up with my 300ish pages of reading a week, something I’ve never really put myself to doing before. I’m really trying to take initiative this semester and take authority for my education; so far, so good. I hope.

One thing that I’m really trying to do is work intensely on creating a spectacular undergraduate thesis, but, considering my reading amounts for my other two literature classes, the researching for that has been nearly thwarted. I’ll eventually be able to create a balance between reading for class and researching for my thesis. Maybe. As long as I eliminate, or at the very least reduce, my Facebook usage (and, I almost hate to say it, considering I’m doing it right now, blogging). I need this semester to really make me shine. I have a terrific GPA right now, but doing well on my last semester, especially on the thesis, portions of which I’m submitting to grad schools as my writing sample, will really make me feel accomplished. Being my last semester (even though it almost wasn’t my last semester; I’ll get to that in a minute), I need to shine.

Yeah. Graduation. Just a little more than 100 days until I’m officially finished with my undergraduate degree! I’m so excited to rid myself of the wretched university I attend, a university that told me last semester if I took a particular five classes, I’d be set to graduate in December, a university that, for some reason or another, changed its mind sometime between April and August. It took a lot of fighting with two different departments (the English department and the college itself, the College of Arts & Sciences), but everything is finally set. Thank God. I do believe I’m at 106 days. Bring it on.

You might have noticed, too, that I have one more piece of metal in my ear. Yes, another piercing. I went to lunch with Katie Poule at Panera, then stopped in at the piercing and tattoo parlor to have them check my snug (I swear I just wanted them to look at it and make sure it looked to be healing correctly), and strangely, I walked out with another piercing, a cartilage hoop. I love it, though, and can’t wait for my third piercing (and fourth?)! I’m starting to design my right ear. I think I want my rook and tragus done. 

Let the weekend begin, right? Happy Labor Day to everyone! Enjoy your cookouts, your drinks, your day off. And think of me, studying laboriously in my room, catching up and trying to get ahead on my reading and thesis.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Ephemeris. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

